Do the positive effects outweigh the negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the ongoing phenomenon that advertisements are increasingly popular. In my view, this trend could have positive and negative consequences in equal measures. On the one hand, the popularity of commercials can bring negative impacts on individuals and the economy as a whole. One of them is encouraging impulse buying, and this makes it really hard for consumers to save their money. In fact, millions of companies who have business in order to attract and retain customers’ attention, stay updated with big promotions for their new product on opening day. For example, Apple's compelling marketing influences young consumers, making them drawn to the latest models despite functional older phones. Another drawback is that organizations must spend a huge amount of money on the pieces of advertisements, which has ensured that the products are well-known by consumers. Hence, it pushes the cost of products and services to rise, and customers must pay a bit more if they want to buy their items. On the other hand, the extensive coverage of advertising might also have some negative consequences that are worthy of consideration. Firstly, it enhances customers’ knowledge of the product attached to the information and services, which helps them feel deserved if they are willing to buy it. To be specific, the young stay updated with digital devices by watching commercial television, so that they excel at how to use it well. Secondly, commercials make a significant financial contribution to the nation’s revenue. From an economic standpoint, advertising plays a crucial role in stimulating overall economic growth. In fact, the multi-billion-dollar commercial industry witnesses’ substantial investments from manufacturers aiming to strengthen brand recognition, ultimately driving increased sales and contributing to tax revenues for the nation. In conclusion, this tendency has posed both beneficial and detrimental influences on individuals as well as the whole economy.