In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's age and time, due to a packed schedule of adults and youth in the UK, the older generation feels secluded and not adored by their family. Their culture is different from many other developed and developing nations. On the one hand, people believe that the government should pay for the expenses of the elderly people living in old-age homes, while on the other hand, some individuals think that it is the family's responsibility. A concrete answer is given below discussing both views in subsequent paragraphs. Britain, well-known as the United Kingdom, is a country where well-established large multinational corporations have laid their roots. In addition, people spend most of their time working by sacrificing their personal lives. The grandparents usually leave their homes to live in old-age centers and are looked after by nurses. As mentioned above, the debate over who should pay for their expenses surrounds many arguments. Although, pensions and some health benefits are already being provided by the legislature; however, some people argue that the family should be responsible for funding these centers. According to me, it is the right statement as the ruling parties are already doing enough for the elders. No one deserves to be left alone in old-age homes as it is not ethical. The values of mean and cruel families are portrayed when they leave their parents and grandparents in these centers. The government and families, both can look after these people together to make them feel loved. Most of the individuals in these centers think they should give up on their lives. For instance, on my recent trip to the United Kingdom, I visited a day and night care home where I exchanged thoughts with these people. They are mainly dependent on the government for food and shelter. The manager told me how some of the individuals attempted suicide as they had no emotional support from their families. To conclude, emotional and moral support should be given to them by visiting and funding these organizations by their own families. These little steps will make them feel better and raise a better generation.