Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?'

For the last three decades. The number of cars possessed had a humungous growth,mostly in cities. This leads to blockage of roads.So let us discuss the reasons for this increase in the number of vehicles and a remedy for that. First of all, people are buying a lot of automobiles and it is because of the reasons, that it is cosier, time-saving and way more comfortable.In order to meet these needs they are forced to buy a car. For example, travelling on a bus or any other public transport could only result in more time-consuming, insecure and uncomfortable rides. However, purchasing their own car can be safe and sound. Due to this fact,there has been an increase in the number of cars bought over the period. Secondly, to discourage people from purchasing a vehicle.The government need to increase the taxes on the vehicles. Doing so people like youngsters can be stopped from buying it and make them choose an alternate way of travelling. As a result,the vehicle count and the traffic jams could be reduced. In addition to that,we can make public transport more secure,cosy and cost-friendly. For example, the public will be encouraged to use these public vehicles.If we improve the quality of the ride along with cost efficiency and punctuality.By doing so we can reduce the traffic and the purchase of automobiles. To conclude, the vehicle count gradually increased over the period and kept on increasing.In my opinion, this is because of the safety, comfort and cost-efficiency.