In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In most countries, many people own guns as a mechanism for self- defense. It is argued that having a gun under possession has escalated the rate of mass shootings in certain areas. In my opinion, there is a greater chance of putting a person’s life at risk by owning a pistol in a household. To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that possessing a gun in a home puts children in danger. Youngsters are not knowledgeable enough to handle a gun on their own. In fact, they might think that it is a toy and play with it. For instance, recently a 17-year-old boy was charged by Baltimore police for being involved in a mass shooting with a firearm under his control. Furthermore, having a weapon has boosted the amount of suicide cases. Thus, it is undeniable that having a gun leads to more deaths and self-harm attempts. Additionally, holding a handgun in a home can be dangerous when spouses get in violent and heated arguments. Most adults, especially males, are unable to control their anger in the midst of a fight and end up using weapons to harm their partner. According to recent research conducted by Stanford University, firearm ownership has escalated the rate of homicide risk. In the same article, it is mentioned that 84% of the victims are females. Besides, some of the homicide incidents are caused by men using the pistol to threaten their significant other but end up accidentally firing it at them. In conclusion, owning a gun has indefinitely exposed humans to a higher possibility of danger. Thus, the government should strengthen the rules and regulations of possessing a private gun to protect the innocent lives.