Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

A social platform avalanche spread over the World with the rapid development of technologies and high-speed Internet. Nowadays, people tend to communicate and perceive daily information through sites like Facebook and Twitter. While a positive trend for socialisation was observed there are obvious drawbacks related to false expectations and disinformation that have flooded social platforms recently. In contrast with my childhood era when in order to reach an overseas friend the order to the phone company had to be placed in advance, today's possibilities seem unlimited. No doubt, the convenience of communication within a family or former class has a beneficial effect on individuals as provides a sense of unity that is vital for mental health. For instance, constant contact with family is a great moral support for a young student abroad and vice versa sedative for a caring mother. However, the commerce side of these platforms is transforming them into a propaganda machine. It includes an infinite number of ads and news without validation. Both these factors have a destructive influence, especially on young minds. For example, COVID-19 and vaccination hoaxes along with countless opinions of unauthorised individuals led to a loss of trust in health institutions. Another point to emphasise is mind manipulation with means of advertisement that alters one's attitude to life towards satisfaction through consumption. Consequently, social media appears to be a mass management tool and can be implemented as a kind of weapon in one's interest. To sum it up, social media benefits people and assists in being in touch and informed about their surroundings. However, the harsh truth is that without strict frames the influence of these media will significantly increase to the point when the truth and reality will lose their' value.