HE USE OF MOBILE PHONES IS AS ANTISOCIAL AS SMOKING. SMOKING IS BANNED IN ERTAIN PLACES SO MOBILE PHONE SHOULD BE BANNED LIKE SOKING. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

Addiction has a plethora of forms, be it smoking or mobile excessive usage. While some people contend that using mobile phones has become inevitable, I believe that it should be mitigated. To begin with, smartphones' positive or detrimental impact on human beings is undeniable. People depend on their devices in almost every aspect of their lives. For example, it is used for entertainment purposes such as social media as well as professional requirements like video conferences and work emails. Therefore, using cellular phones in social gatherings and family meetings hinders communication between society members. However, limiting the usage of such a disruptive device might assist in the process of building up a healthy functional environment. Furthermore, although phone devices are quite handy and useful, they could affect students' concentration and be damaging to vital health machines. In other words, mobile notifications in an educational institution would not allow pupils to focus on their lessons, resulting in a short attention span. A study conducted by Microsoft Canada accentuated that since the year 2000, the average attention span of a person dropped from 12 seconds to 8 seconds. Moreover, phone networks or radiowaves might interfere with some hospital devices, preventing patients from recovering. Thus, Banning citizens from carrying their phones in such places should be reconsidered in favour of having an educated and healthy society. In conclusion, despite that mobile phones are productive, it is my firm belief that they could be sometimes as harmful as cigarettes, and that they should be utterly prohibited in certain areas as they might act as a barrier against socialisation and face-to-face interaction, leading to hazardous ramifications on health and mental progression.