Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A lot of children and teenagers use their phones for hours each day. This, in my opinion, is linked to the excellent ability of social networking sites to keep users interested. It should be seen as a negative development because it has the potential to negatively impact the mental health of this age group. Nowadays, social media platforms are exceptionally good at generating content that will keep people hooked. These businesses utilise the like button feature to track user behaviours, such as engagement and history, and then use machine learning to interpret the data. In this way, companies may provide consumers with an infinite stream of postings that are optimised to hold their attention. Due to their lack of self-control, children may be unable to resist such customised posts and wind up wasting too much time on their mobile gadgets. Unfortunately, children's mental health may suffer as a result of hours spent on their smartphones. Social media's perfectly filtered photographs and polished films may create an illusory world for children scrolling through their accounts. If young people absorb this type of material, they may become dissatisfied with themselves. Consider the physical issues created by Instagram photos in adolescent girls. Some adolescent females may find it difficult to refrain from comparing themselves to influencers who live glamorous lifestyles and have almost ideal appearances. It is not unexpected that many people begin to be concerned about their physical beauty. As a result, this appears to be a negative development. In conclusion, some children spend a significant amount of time each day on their phones because social media continuously provides them with content meant to captivate attention. Unfortunately, this may have a detrimental effect on their mental health.