Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that when companies are recruiting, they should target individuals who are free thinkers and capable of working independently wheras others believe they should hire new staff who are team players and readily take instruction. This essay agrees that companies should target innovative individuals over team players. The modern way of thinking is to recruit staff with initiative who are both creative and able to work independently and are able to look at all things with fresh eyes. These fresh eyes often lead to successful new products and improvements to existing lines. As an example, Marks and Spencer, a British retailer, changed their recruitment model to the more modern approach and saw an almost immediate 10% increase in revenue. A few traditional industries however still follow the time-honoured approach and think that hiring team players is the best course of action as the new recruits will fit more readily into the company culture. While this method may indeed work in more old-fashioned industries, there is no actual evidence to suggest that this style of recruitment works in the modern workplace. It is the opinion of the writer that due to companies employing more innovative staff who are self-sufficient and able to work without supervision, there is a further benefit to the company in staff savings as they do not need to employ so many supervisors to manage the workforce. Indeed, a recent survey carried out on behalf of The British Chamber of Commerce confirmed this to be the case. Thus, the two modes of recruitment offer differing levels of success. Therefore, this essay has demonstrated that companies would benefit more by employing independent and innovative staff to help grow their businesses.