Today, TV channels focus more on men’s sport than on women’s sport. Why has this happened? Should TV give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports?

Nowadays,many find that there are more male sport activities than female sport activities on televisions. I will explain in this essay why I believe this is the case and why the TV should give equal time to male and female activities. In my view, this trend is prevalent for three reasons. An obvious reason responsible for the issue is that there are more males than females among the sport lovers. Given this, more sport channels choose to play the man’s competitive sports to attracts more audiences to improve their audience rating. By doing do, they can make more money from advertisements. Another possible cause contributing to this trend is competitive sports require very high physical fitness because it needs a lot of energy. As a result male athletes is more than female athletes, so there are more male sport activities in television. An often-overlooked factor to this issue is the sponsor of male activities is more than women so that TV managers have to choose more male competitive sports. I believe it is significant for TV programs to give equal time to both male and female sports. First of all female consumption ability is higher than man, if there are more sports activities on TV, more female audience may well be attracted by it. Given this, it is not only can improve the TV audience rating, but also can help to increase some companies’ profits, such as sportswear companies and the program sponsor’s company. In addition, more female sport programs may well attract more women to participate in exercises. By doing so, it can help people to improve their physical fitness, and some women who is shy or don’t want to be suntanned, may well choose to exercise indoors, like gym and fitness rooms. Thus, it can increase their earnings too. To sum up, there are obvious reasons for this trend, and I tend to side with the opinion that the television program should give equal time to both male and female sport activities.Today, TV channels focus more on men’s sport than on women’s sport. Why has this happened? Should TV give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports?