A government has a citizen to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Crime is a major concern in every country and every government is expected to put laws in place to secure its citizens. Some may believe that more funds should be allocated to the defence sector rather than social interests such as recreational centres. On the contrary, I strongly believe social centres tend to bring in more revenue and create job opportunities which would reduce the crime rate in any society. I will be discussing these points further in this essay. First of all, centres such as parks, hotels and recreational areas employ thousands of individuals and research has shown that the majority of the people who get involved in crime are unemployed. For instance, a salary earner who goes to work daily would have less time to worry about crime. Hence, many folks are being employed which would reduce crime in the society. Secondly, if a country spends more on social activities, they could tax such places and the funds can be used in other sectors. Furthermore, the government can generate more revenue as they develop places which would attract tourists to the state. For example, people love to go to Dubai because there are a lot of fun places to visit. A country will attract foreigners who would spend millions to visit and that alone will boost the economy and provide funds that can improve other sectors such as defense. In conclusion, I opine that more money should be spent to improve the recreational areas of the country as employment will reduce the crime rate and create more jobs for people.