Some people think that it is a good idea to give children a small amount of money each week to spend on what they would like.Other people think this is wrong and that it is a waste of money.Discuss both views and give your opinion

One of the most debated topics is whether if children should be given pocket money. By doing so it helps children to cultivate the habit of spending money wisely. On the other hand, people believe on having money will encourage children to spend unnecessarily and this leads to money wastage. In my opinion, it is good to give children pocket money and parents could even use money as rewards in many instances. Personal financial management is important to everyone. However, this is not being taught in school. It starts with understanding what does money mean to us and it is advisable for parents to start teaching about this at home. By giving weekly pocket money to children helps them to understand the importance of spending within one鈥檚 means. This forms a habit of budgeting and allows children to truly grasp the value of money at an tender age. In addition, children learn how to save up money for rainy days and this prevents them from getting into financial troubles once they grow up. On the flip side, giving pocket money to children means giving them the power to make purchase of what they like. Often, children are too young to differentiate what is beneficial to them. As a result, it is highly likely that they end up purchasing unnecessary items which is waste of money. Nevertheless, there is always two sides to a coin. In my opinion, it brings more benefits for parents to give pocket money to children as they can observe their children 鈥檚 spending behavior and correct them if necessary. Also, once children understand the value of money, parents can even use money as a reward if children have extra achievements or if they are willing to help in house chores. In conclusion, managing money is a knowledge that many takes a life time to master. There is only upside to start this learning process early. Hence, parents should start giving children pocket money as part of this education