Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. Do you agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Aging population is one of the commonly discussed topics around the world. By having more elderly it certainly creates problem such as diminishing workforce and insufficient pension funds. However, it also comes with benefits whereby elderly have more experience whereby they are able to guide the young ones. Considering all angle, I am in the opinion that aging population comes with more disadvantages than advantages. Firstly, the main issue with aging population is not having enough workforces to drive the economy. People should not be working for their entire life, hence, retirement age is mandated by the government around the world. When a country is lacking of workforces, it will then have to import it from other countries. A big influx of foreigners could change the country’s demography and even potentially create social unrest. Besides that, pension funds of many countries rely heavily on younger employees to actively contribute to the funds in order to generate enough returns for its existing members. A country with more elderly than young bloods means the pension fund is not sustainable. Consequently, with lower investment returns, living standards of the elderly might be impacted as well. There is always two sides to a coin. Apart from the downsides, an obvious advantage of having aging population is the elderly are able to mentor the young people and lead them onto the right path. As the saying goes: “old is gold”. Young people are more likely to make mistakes due to their lack of experience and this can be effectively mitigated by having the elderly around. However, in my opinion, the advantage of aging population does not outweigh the disadvantageous. Not having enough young people in the country has more serious implications. Issues such as not enough workforces and diminishing return of pension funds are extremely challenging to manage. We can see this from Japan, which have taken multiple approaches to reverse the aging population, but, to no avail. In conclusion, a healthy mix of population is key to drive the nation forward. Governments need to always have updated demography data and act accordingly in order to maintain a balanced population.