It is important for children to learn the differences between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend to you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is crucial for juveniles to understand the differences between right and wrong when they are very young. Punishing is an important way to help them find out more about the distinctions. I completely agree with this statement and believe that some punishments are necessary during upbringing. It is imperative to differentiate bad and good traits for children when they are still very young because the early stages of life are the era during which one’s personality forms and it is the best age to familiarize the young generation with humans’ intrinsic values and morals. Furthermore, when the child is very young he or she is more likely to pick up good and bad behaviors from others and follow them. In this case, mothers and fathers should try and explain moral principles in an easy and convincing way and if the child does not accept his or her impolite behaviour, parents have to take more serious actions such as grounding the child to teach him or her a lesson. I believe that imposing moderate punishments definitely plays an important role in raising children. Although corporal punishments are not recommended, parents and teachers should be allowed to use other methods such as grounding them or giving them time outs because extolling them when they do something right in order to promote that trait is not always useful and can spoil them over time. On the other hand, punishing does not always have to be cruel. For instance, it is amazing how using inspiring stories and poems that are based on promoting ethics can be helpful in instilling good values in children and informing them indirectly that they have misbehaved. In conclusion, I agree that teaching the young manners and good deeds as well as including more strictness such as grounding is very important in bringing up.