Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replacing them with mode buildings. To at extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common to think that brand-new things, including buildings, are always much better than the old ones. Nevertheless, a lot of people disagree with this statement and stand for protecting and maintaining historical landmarks. And I am one of those. First of all, why we have to create something new, modern if the old and used one works perfectly fine. Many historical buildings are mostly in the mint condition and they require only a bit of make-up to reborn their past beauty. For example, most of the houses in one of my city, Kaliningrad, district are original ones. These houses were not damaged during the WW2 what allowed to repair them after. Now these builds are still in use as apartment ones just like it was 90 years ago. Secondly, renovating and restoring of old buildings help to save money and use them for funding other essential constructions such as schools, hospitals and so on. For instance, it is crucial for some Russian cities like Saint Petersburg to build new schools due to a great number of children starting their studies in the next few years. Thus, a more careful and deliberate funding will allow government to solve these issues. Last but not least, maintaining connection between past and future is consequential for the society as we all use our previous experience for learning. And the old architecture is one of the pieces to help us to do so as every building carries history in it. Preserving historical buildings plays a big role in giving people an opportunity to learn history not only by looking at the photos in books but also by seeing these captured history pieces in reality. To sum up, it is definitely important and necessary to preserve and protect the old builds than to replace them from scratch with modern designs, both as the part of our history and a good saving resource.