Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

When to begin learning a foreign language is a controversial issue. Some professionals believe that starting a language at elementary school benefits children's development rather than at higher education. It seems to me that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. I will shed light on the issue in the following essay. On the one hand, there are still drawbacks when learning a foreign language in high school. First of all, young children have difficulty mastering a new tongue due to less flexible brain plasticity and less exposure to language. Secondly, since students have a lot of homework, there isn't much time invested in studying a new language, which limits the amount of time and resources available for language instruction. Besides that, parents do not have enough knowledge to help their children pass this process. Finally, students have higher expectations from teachers and pressure to perform well in exams. Therefore, they don't focus on studying foreign languages. On the other hand, there are several advantages to learning a foreign language in elementary school. First of all, younger people benefit cognitively from better problem-solving and multitasking abilities. Second, kids will comprehend learning to be better due to brain plasticity and exposure to a language -rich environment. Compared to older kids, 7-year-olds, for instance, can process knowledge more quickly. Finally, the pronunciation of pupils improves thanks to exposure to native speakers. To sum up, starting to study a non-native in elementary school is more beneficial than in higher education. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.