Some people think that the government should subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Obesity has become a major health concern these days. It can be argued that making healthier options readily available to the public can alleviate the problem. Even though this approach might work, I believe that making unhealthy foods scarcer in society is also necessary to tackle this effectively. Firstly, why is outside food always unhealthy? Starting from my school cafeteria and college canteen to street food and fast- food enterprises, they always tend to promote taste and short-term indulgences. As a result, more and more people, with a lack of a better option, tend to binge on these foods, leading to a number of health concerns like fatty liver, heart disease, stroke etc. all of which stem from the basic problem i.e. obesity. Taxing these foods, therefore is essential if the government is aiming for a healthier society. Also, these foods can be made scarcer by decreasing the fast- food franchises in the country. On the other hand, providing humans with what is essential is also important. Apart from fruits and vegetables sold at cheaper prices, healthier fast food stalls can be encouraged. Being from India, the commonly available street food here is called ‘chat’ which is a mixture of a variety of pulses, vegetables and spices. By doing this, people can motivate each other to eat better. This approach can encourage people to aim for a fitter lifestyle if healthy food is presented everywhere. In conclusion, I believe that a balanced approach is needed which promotes healthier foods and discourages unhealthy ones, to win over this situation.