It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world and science of child-rearing are ever-changing with new "innovative" methods that will produce the most well-rounded child. Some child specialists suggest that elementary school children ought to learn how to propagate vegetables and nurture animals. This essay will present arguments that children engaging in agriculture hold far more positives than negatives. Those arguing against this proposal would direct our attention down several paths of reasoning. Implementing such an ambitious program needs land nearby where they could raise animals and crops. This land grab might be possible within a school's pre-existing grounds, but there would still need to be significant investment in infrastructure. Schools would therefore have to reallocate a significant portion of their budget, potentially reducing the money for crucial facilities, staff, and teaching resources. Opponents of this new educational model also point out that undeniable animal bacteria and infectious viruses from said land and animals could put schoolchildren's health at high risk because they downplay the importance of hygiene. In tandem with this, insects from the soil once children grow plants might also affect learners' health. However, the advantages of the holistic development of children are overwhelming. Students today spend more time than ever before passively using technological devices. Students will better understand their position within the natural food chain by spending more time outdoors learning about animals and crops. Over time, this may lead them to adopt environmentally friendlier, compassionate lifestyle choices such as becoming vegetarians or shopping locally rather than buying from large chains. Moreover, the work outdoors would necessarily involve physical exercise. Since obesity is a growing concern in most countries, this time outside could help improve physical fitness standards and establish healthy lifelong habits. As a final clenching argument, encouraging children down this agricultural path encouragement might provide children with a precious opportunity to access a healthy and reliable source of food. Taking Vietnam as a prime example of delivering a self-sufficient source of vegetables and meats stemming from school-based farms is likely to help schoolchildren steer clear of food poisoning. In conclusion, despite the money this reform would require, schools should adopt it when possible to achieve a complete education for students. Governments should consider the long-term effects when deciding on such policies.