In many countries, people now wear western-style dress (eg. suits and jeans) rather than more traditional types of clothing. Why is it? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this age and day, a large number of individuals tend to wear western-style dress such as suits, jean,.. rather than conventional types of clothing. This trend is rooted in several causes and I am of the opinion that it a positive shift in fashion due to more overwhelming merits it offers. Admiteddly, there are some certain factors that are attributable to this phenomenon. One worth mentioning is owing to the endemic proliferation and prevalence of the social media. In other words, many online platforms such as: Instagram, Tiktok and Facebook have enabled people get exposure to diverse cultures and fashion trends with ease, especially western style. As a result, users also may share this type of fashion ubiquitiously to many communities, leading to a homogenization of traditional clothing styles. More importantly, the wide spread of E-commerce has played a vital role in this shift. To put it more simply, the rampant avability a of this have facilitated people to purchase clothes easier and many online retailers on this market have sold Western-style clothes at more affordable and competitive prices, making it an attractive option for customers. The ubiquity of Western-style dress has undeniably led to the loss of cultural identity and diversity in many nations, but I believe that they can be ironed out because of the advantages this trend brings. One point need considering is the diversity of job opportunities this shift creates for local people. With the prevalence of this fashion trend, there is an increased demand for label workforces including data analysits, sales representatives and logistic coordinators. Additionally, this approach makes it possible for individuals to express themselves through fashion, leading to an increase in demand for unique and personalized clothing items. This has created a niche market for local designers and manufacturers to cater others. To conclude, the trend of wearing Western-clothers is due to the prevalence of social media and the appearance of E-commerce as well. Although there are some drawbacks to this, I believe this shift in fashion offers people with more merits such as: generating local jobs and creating markets for people to express themselves.