Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say that this is waste valuable time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Studying international news for teenagers is an essential academic subject. Some argue that the valuable time used for this study is waste and can use the limited time for other necessities. In this essay, the editor sheds some light on both views and expresses his ideas. To begin with, foreign news including social issues, technologies, etc. can broaden students ' horizons in the world. Firstly, the news reveals what the current international issues are and how those issues may relate to us. For example, a Japanese electricity company is discharging wasted water from nuclear plants and that water may affect our health. Secondly, students discover the latest technology from the news. For example, the invention of the hyperloop is the high-speed train transferred by a vacuum tube. On the other hand, some opponents recognize that is useless and wastes the pupils' valuable time as they utilize the time to do more meaningful activities. For example, students play basketball during their leisure time. As a result, teenagers may have healthy bodies but their desired knowledge is limited to textbooks. In addition, discussing topics with peers is lessened if others are talking about the latest technological advancement. For example, the features of the latest release of the iPhone. To prevent similar circumstances, students can spend half an hour hearing the news on the Internet. To sum up, adolescents are essential to studying international news to broaden their knowledge and understand what circumstances are encountering. It is a valuable time to spend and enhance their living standards.