Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The world of science needs more people, especially a younger generation which can think differently. Children across the globe are opting out of science at schools. This maybe because of a number of reasons which will be discussed in this essay along with its effects on the general public. To begin with, science is comparatively challenging. Because of this, students are scared to choose the field. In my school, not a lot of my friends chose the hard-sciences as the textbooks were too dry and complicated. Also, people tend to think about future job opportunities, the money it makes and most importantly, the time it takes to settle down in life. In my country, for instance, there is a dearth of work for engineer graduates and they are forced to go for higher studies to improve their skills, with a hope to land a decent job someday. This is leading to longer study times which translates to settling later in life. Taking all this into consideration, today’s generation is leaning more towards easier routes. As a result of this, the future generation is going to bear the brunt of it. Scientific discoveries will decrease, which will slow down the progress of mankind. The number of doctors will fall, leading to pressure on the existing ones, which in turn will affect the healthcare system. For instance, government hospitals serve the poor and needy free of cost, which, for obvious reasons attracts a lot of patients leading to raised workloads. This can be avoided if more students joined the medical fraternity. Furthermore, large multinational companies won’t be headed by worthy professionals, all of which will tire out a nations’ economy. To conclude, children must be encouraged from middle school to take up science and universities must be properly funded with good teaching faculty in order for the humanity to achieve great heights.