Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recyclng is for the goverment to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Appropriate waste handling is one of the important factors to save the environment. One part of society considers that recycled waste is not properly disposed of by the residential sector, thereby, the government should formulate and enforce strict rules for recycled waste management. I completely agree with this statement, and explain the need in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, in this contemporary era, where due to population rise and high food demand, nations are already facing the issue of land scarcity. Also, technological innovations take place each and every day, bringing the throwaway culture into societies, which eventually increases the demand for landfill sites. So, at this time, if people are not throwing the recycled waste into the correct bins, then it will increase the unnecessary demand for land to dump the waste that could be saved, if individuals are aware about the necessity of categorisation of trash into organic, recycled and garbage. For this, governments should start awareness programs at schools, colleges, and public places like libraries, and non-government organisations should also take the initiative to run campaigns like road rallies, so that communities can understand the need for the right selection of bins to put the waste which can be reprocessed in the factories for re-usage to save the planet. Secondly, If the waste management companies perform this job at their end to separate the garbage to ensure that required waste can be recycled, it is nearly impossible, because thousands of tonnes of waste are collected each day. Hence, separating them will take additional cost, time and labour that increase the financial burden on governments, resulting in, an increase in waste management bills for the household sector. Also, no extra efforts are required to categorise litter into different bags at the initial point where it is actually created, that is, by the household sector, which is economical for governments and communities both. Therefore, managing to recycling waste at the consumer end is the most convenient way, thus, strict laws such as high penalties should be made so that the populace should take responsibility on their own to dispose of waste properly to reduce the burden on the earth. To conclude, I would wrap up my essay by saying that the earth's protection is at an alarming stage, so, governments, non-government organisations, and citizens should opt collaborative approach to manage the scrap properly ensuring recycled products must be put into the recycling container for their further reuse process.