Should Long term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community

Working-class are the backbone of every nation. The people collecting welfare while searching for a job for a longer period of time should be made to do charity work for the betterment of society and individuals. The essay will explore this belief in detail. People who do not have jobs become a burden on the country as they consume monetary resources in the form of welfare, funds which could be used in the development of public institutions and infrastructure like schools, hospitals, roads and many more. Similarly, unemployed individuals do not contribute to taxes which in turn weakens the government treasury which as a result slows down the growth of society and puts stress on hard-working, tax-paying people leading them towards mental and financial problems. A person who stays out of work for too long can lose their confidence and their skill set can deplete over time, Doing charity work like construction and trade jobs can help them learn a new ability or sharpen them, thus, building back their confidence and expertise to return to work. In addition to this free work can also help them make connections with potential employers, which can allow them to secure a job, putting them back on their feet. To conclude it can be said that taking people out of work workforce can have detrimental effects on both individuals and society, on the other hand, charity work can make people eligible, and confident to get and keep jobs. It is mutually beneficial for both society and the individual.