Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Few specialists think that deciding to start studying a non-native language should begin in junior school instead of learning in middle school. Whilst, this is not something that everyone will consider, it appears that there are a lot of advantages for those who would benefit from this oppurtunity. Learning different languages has many positive impacts on children. Firstly, it would give students the experience of various cultures and perspective at very small age. This means that starting many dialects at a very young age will expand their knowledge in many countries thus giving primary school students access to various oppurtunities. Secondly, it will provide speech practices of wide spectrum of words, thereby increasing the pronounciation of words. As a result, the children would be able to improve their perspective of trying new things that aid to their evolution. Finally, the experience of studying a new slang will ensure students to become more self-confident and self-reliant when they visit a new country. Likewise, since learning begins from a very young age they will be capable of getting to know more number of languages. On the contrary, it could have some disadvantages in some circumstances. Provided that, it might be a waste of time if the individual makes no use of it. For instance, when a young boy learns French during his school days, but, prefer to work in his own home country with his own mother tongue, it would be waste of learning it. In conclusion, I believe any disadvantage will be heavily outweighed by the significant benefits that one earns from getting to know a language in primary school. Not only the experience the young ones get to be desirable to their future, but, also gaining proficiency in another language would benefit them in the future.