In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the use of the internet and online chats is becoming the norm globally. Majority of the companies are choosing online communications rather than meeting face to face. This essay will discuss in detail the advantages of this development. We are in a technological era. Almost all people around the world have a gadget and are familiar with the use of the internet. Now, for some having a face-to-face meeting is frowned upon. Companies are now becoming more diverse in doing their business. Online communication among colleagues inside a company offers lots of benefits. By having the intranet all members of the group can access one project without the need to ask their co-workers. It is efficient, accessible and saves time. It increases the employees' productivity. For example, in a hospital new doctors order can be accessed on the system. In addition, all nursing reports, and patient data can be accessed by the team. Also, by having online meetings, workers don't need to travel and it saves them time and effort. On the other hand, the drawback of using the intranet is it is susceptible to breach of security. Also, breaking down of the system might happen thus resulting in the delay of work. To conclude, the use of internal communication in a workplace is a great help for the work to be more efficient and accessible, moreover it increases the employee's productivity. Though it has its disadvantages. I believe that the positive development far outweighs its disadvantages.