Some people think the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and others vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

Nowadays, every time we turn on television or flick through the pages of newspapers, we learn about global warming and climate change. Some people claim that the government should impose taxes on the cost of energy for every means of transportation in order to tackle the problems. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this and draw some conclusions. One of the most noticeable positives of escalating fuel prices is to limit the number of people driving on the road. In other words, if the travelling cost is over budget due to the policy from the government, instead of using personal vehicles, commuters would rather go with public transport such as the metro or buses. As a result, the fewer cars or motorbikes commuting on the streets, the less air pollutants are emitted from them. For example, in some Western countries, the authorities aim to increase VAT taxes for gasoline and diesel by up to 10 per cent to hinder air pollution. Turning to the other side of the argument, contraband is such a major problem. To be more specific, if petrol price is much out of reach for most consumers, they will end up not using authentic sources of energy anymore. As soon as some private companies join the market at an affordable price, they will be the top selection for many. Consequently, the country may not be burdened with economic damage but also a serious crime. In conclusion, it is obvious that reducing the cost of operating power is such a debated issue to solve the environmental problem. Although this action can help minimize toxic emissions from cars, it may lead to other types of criminals. In my opinion, I hold a strong belief that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.