Spending time in another country, not as a part of a holiday, is beneficial for one's personal development. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Provide reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a world of technological progress in all dimensions. As a result, people are spending time abroad from their motherland as workers or students. For many people, including myself, this is beneficial for one's personal development. Above I am going to support my opinion on that point. Firstly, spending time as a worker or a foreign student, you come closer and learn the culture of other countries. That makes you open-minded and gives you the opportunity to copy and transfer into your homeland new thoughts, new themes even new cultures. For example, a Greek student at an American University can learn new techniques of learning, of living and by the time he returns to his country, he will have the opportunity to pass all of his new knowledge on to the members of his community. On the other hand, with his contribution to the university faculty, students from other countries learn about the culture of Greece. Secondly, the aim of living alone in a strange environment, far away from your family, makes you stronger as a person. You have to find a way to succeed alone. Even if you are too shy, or embarrassed, you push yourself to make things for surviving. I remember when I was a freshman, I used to stay alone because I didn't know anyone. After six months I recognised that this couldn't continue, and day after day I got close to other students, so as to have company. Good friendships build these years and I am glad I did it. Finally, in conclusion, I want to ensure that only good things can occur to someone's development when is needed to spend time in another country not as a part of a holiday. So we all have to become open-minded and lead ourselves to fall down and find a way to stand up again.