In many cities the population is increasing. Some say that the urbanisation process denies us knowing our neighbors, and this causes a loss of community sense. What is the main problem with this? What measures can be taken to overcome it?

The growing urbanization in a majority of cities where the population increases at a faster pace loosens ties with neighbours, leading to the lack of community understanding. The rapid advancement of technology promotes a separate lifestyle in neighbourhoods, for which more interactive events should be encouraged to tighten their relationship. A spreading trend of individualism is another important factor contributing to this problem and people should be given collaborative activities where they are able to recognize the mutual importance. The primary reason for the disintegration among neighbours in cities is the increasing reliance on technological gadgets. In other words, more people tend to spend time online since a number of entertaining services are provided these days. For instance, people are more likely to be addicted to their own smartphones, with which they are able to enjoy watching movies, playing games and chatting with their friends. Furthermore, a rising level of satisfaction with such digital activities discourages communication with neighbours as they tend to spend indoors. In order to solve this, the government should provide some attractive opportunities including summer festivals and dancing concerts, where people can extend their local relationships. Therefore, it is increasingly important for them to meet face-to-face so they can gain an actual sense of trust and care that they cannot have otherwise. Another significant factor that prevents local people from interacting with each other comes from the growing individualism. Indeed, people are less concerned about others living close to them despite the growing population because they have become sufficiently independent. For example, there are fewer worries about food supplies due to plentiful vegetables and meat sold in grocery shops today. Consequently, they no longer need to cooperate with neighbours by working hard to produce agricultural products in open fields like they used to in the past. Thus, the lack of interaction in daily life can cause disinterest and even suspicions with one another, making them avoid contact in the first place, for which schools and local authorities should offer some programs to encourage them to work collaboratively so they are more encouraged to understand the importance of one another. In conclusion, the disintegration of neighbours is a striking issue caused by the rapid development of technology and prevalent individualism in modern society. Accordingly, the government seems to be required to take the initiative by holding various exciting events as well as educational activities for local residents to establish more intimate relationships.