Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environment problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether the most critical environmental problem is the extinction of some endangered species of plant and animal kingdom or whether there are other issues which are more severe. Personally, I strongly advocate the later view. Boths ides will be examined in this essay using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments. On the one hand, there is ample and strong evidence that losing some plants and animals has an extremely negative effect, especially on the balance of an ecosystem which will be destroyed. As the first point, some animals will no longer have a proper diet and will consume other types of food. An extensive study from the University of Cambridge, for instance, illustrated that the grey wolves in North America tend to hunt larger preys than they used to after the permanent loss of local hare in northern area of the United States. This results in the attack of those wolves to domestic cattle such as cows and goats, leading to the loss of villages’ properties. Another point which should be taken into consideration is that losing some species in the food chain will lead to a domino effect on the predators as well. The central reason behind this is that some animals could eat only one certain type of food and could not survive without it. For example, the population of blue-tailed shrimp in the Pacific Ocean started to be reduced from the lack of red algae. In the meantime, rock snappers, big fish whose food is shrimp, also have a declining number. On the other hand, although there is significant downside of the extinction of animals, multifold impact of other problems might be more severe significantly cannot be denied. Perhaps the most important one is global warming, which is the well-known global issue. The results of it could be in multiples ways, firstly, the rise of global temperature which has a dramatic effect on the world population. A clear illustration is that there are almost 100 thousand people died from heat stroke, resulting from increased temperature, in 2022 which is a serious problem. Secondly, the rise in sea level is undeniable to be another serious problem. It is predicted to be increased by 5 centimeters annually from the melting of icebergs in the poles. Regards to this, Maldives, a famous tourist-attracting island, and numerous islands are predicted to sink under the water surface in decades. Consistent with this line of thinking is that those problems are more severe and have larger impact on the world including the extinction of some species as well. Some bees in Japan are no longer existed due to the hotter temperature there, leading to the disappearance of Sakura flower in the Southern area from loss of pollination. To conclude from the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that global warming would be more critical compared to extinction of those species as it will lead to extinction as well. The impact of it has created that noticeable change to the world and change the ways of living. It is predicted that the temperature will increase about 2 degrees per year. Therefore, everyone should follow the rules and save the environment together for the sustainable world in the future.