In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newpaper. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

The environment suffers from severe damage because of the misuse and over-exploitation of the resources on earth. This problem escalates to its peak when many people do not recycle or reuse objects. If this misconduct continues, humans will be the cause of the degradation of the environment and endangerment of exotic animals species. In this essay, I will address some main problems that lead to environmental degradation and share simple ways to solve them. The major reasons why many people do not recycle waste materials are lack of awareness and facilities. It is quite evident that this problem is mainly in third-world countries or areas that authorities are unable to access. Firstly, the reason why people do not recycle is because they are not aware of the benefits of recycling. Recycling leads to less waste which naturally in turn keeps our surroundings clean. Besides, reusing materials is cost-efficient and economical. One way to overcome this obstacle is to set up awareness campaigns with the help of social media or talk to people in your locality about it. Another action is to write to local newspapers and spread the word. The second challenge is the lack of governmental facilities. Sadly, sometimes many people have no choice but to throw away waste materials because of the lack of appropriate organizations that can recycle waste. However, the solution is straightforward. We can reuse waste materials at home easily. For example, use old shirts as kitchen rags, use soda bottles and plastic bags for storage, and donate used books to charities or schools. In conclusion, the steps to solve environmental degradation are easy. I believe that it can only be solved if all of us come together and incorporate these practices into our daily lives. Our small steps will create a better earth for generations to come.