Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

These days, It is considered that plastic bottles and plastic packaging are harmful to the environment. This essay will shed light on this topic, providing information about what environmental damage is caused by plastic and what actions can be taken by governments and individuals. To begin with, there is no denying the fact that plastic has a detrimental impact on the environment. To illustrate, regardless of where in the world, whenever plastic is burned, it releases a toxic substance into the air, which causes air pollution. In addition, waste from plastic bags and bottles poses a serious danger to human and animal health. Especially micro plastic imposes(has) a drastic impact on marine biodiversity, thus leading to the extinction of endangered species. Furthermore, the major problem which stems from plastic packing and bottles is a lack of landfills due to the fact that it ()takes many years to decompose them. To alleviate these drawbacks, to a large extent, it is vital that governments should legislate to improve the ratio of recycling plastic. For instance, plastic bags for shopping should be prohibited, and as a consequence, individuals will modify their everyday habits, namely not using plastic bags, bottles or containers when there is an alternative. Most importantly, individuals should be mindful of the environmental issues. To address this, authorities should provide education in order to instil in individuals how crucial plastic pollution is, resulting in encouraging people to recycle plastic products or minimise the amount of its use. To conclude, although plastic affects the environment dreadfully, there are some measures to deal with these inevitable problems as outlined above.