Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

Collecting users ' data by different businesses has been a controversial topic for years. Although some people think this should be forbidden, I personally believe that it could be really beneficial for both sides. On the one hand, it could be said that it is humans' right to decide whether they want their data to be stored. Some users do not feel comfortable with the fact that their moves on the internet are being monitored by others. What is more, there are many companies which are not presenting "policy and privacy terms" clearly. By way of illustration, when an individual clears their history from Google, it is still stored in the "My Activity" section. Due to this, users may feel worried about their personal information and think it could be misused. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that many of the developments in technology are based on the data collected from users. If it was restricted, many inventions and developments would be impossible. To illustrate, there is a service called "Recommender System" that helps customers by recommending items based on their search and previous orders. Moreover, there is no harm in collecting information; it only helps the customers to have a better experience. Besides, there is always a choice for users to not allow it, like when they are "safe browsing". To conclude, though some would say storing and using users ' data must be prohibited, considering the fact that customers have the ability to reject it, I subscribe to the view that collecting customers ' information can be good for everyone.