Loneliness is an increasing problem in many society, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How might it be remedied?

It is an irrefutable fact that with the modern lifestyle and hectic schedules, people are feeling more lonely which is in conflict with the idea modern lifestyle presents. Furthermore, this issue is even more prevalent in the elderly of society. In this essay, we will highlight the key reason for the said issue and as a part of society what we can do to mitigate this. One of the primary reasons for aged people of our society to feel alone is that the young generation is migrating to the metro cities for better job opportunities and career growth, leaving aged folks behind in the small towns. Since people majorly devote their time to the upbringing of their children, they feel a void in their lives when they no longer stay in the same house with their children. In the last century, the concept of a joint family was more dominant, which is now replaced with the nuclear family concept. Another reason is the emotional distance among people resulting in fewer close friends and families. For evidence, a report was published in Hindustan Time based on a survey conducted on 1000 people, mentioning that the happiness index of people is declining especially aged people due to lesser social interactions. Considering the solution, visiting family and close friends more frequently can greatly reduce negative emotions and improve overall well-being. Additionally, the elder generation can invest their time and money in the direction which helps them to socialize more and can eventually bring happiness in their life. For the young generation, children can plan constant and frequent visits to their parents if living together is not an option which can eventually help them to keep the bond intact. To conclude, there could be numerous reasons for people to feel isolated, and various solutions exist to mitigate those. However, being with the near and dear ones can help overcome many of such problems.