Some people think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is widely believed that eating habits have a significant impact on human health and well-being, so imposing a tax on unhealthy food is necessary to motivate people to eat healthier. Personally, I strongly agree with this view for a variety of reasons. To begin with, people will be aware of the nutritional value and consequences of their food choices. This means that by increasing the price of unhealthy foods, the government can signal to consumers that these foods are harmful to their health and should be consumed in moderation. For example, by raising the tax to 10% on sugar-sweetened beverages in 2014, the Mexican authorities helped citizens recognize which foods are harmful to their health and after two years, these drinks decreased by 7.6%. This suggests that people responded to the price change by reducing their intake of sugary drinks, which are linked to obesity, diabetes, and dental problems. Furthermore, it can generate revenue for the government to invest in public health programs. This means that the authorities can use the tax money to provide healthy food such as fruits, vegetables, and whole grains, to make them more affordable and accessible for low-income groups. For example, in Hungary where a tax was applied in 2011, the revenue was used to support healthcare costs and education programs in schools and other good programs for the poor. In conclusion, imposing a tax not only helps people be aware of what food they consume, but also makes more revenue for the government which can be used for the common good.