social media is promoting communication between people . do you agree or disagree ?

In this social media era, it has become apparent that communication among individuals has improved. I partially agree with this fact. To begin with, social media has drifted a lot of relationships apart. Some family bonds are lost as the members rarely speak to one another. This is because life has become busy and when every member returns home, instead of engaging with one another, they rather spend long hours chatting with virtual friends or following newsfeed about current trends in the name of wanting to keep up with modern trends. A survey conducted by my class teacher revealed that some children feel happy at school than at home because they have real people to talk to and play with but they do not get these at home as their parents are mostly busy pressing their phones rather than spending some quality time and giving attention to their kids. On the other hand, advent of mobile devices has closed the communication gap between members who are in different nations. People are able to reach their loved ones at their own convenience through messages, phone calls or video calls almost instantly. This is as opposed to the past where it took several months to deliver a message across nations through posting. To add to this, any form of news happening in a particular place reaches the whole world through news outlets in at most hours. These illustrations undoubtedly highlight the progress made in our communications. To sum up, although social media has obviously made our communication better, it has also bridged the relationship gap to communication in some family relationships.