Social media is gradually replacing imperson face to face contact with many people worldwide. Do the benefits of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of internet and in result of everyone having access to at least a mobile phone, it is now possible to talk and even see everybody wherever they are through the social media. This raises the question of whether these applications are worth reducing our real life connections or it is better for us to stick to the old ways. I personally prefer imperson impersonal real life conversations. Although you can save a lot of time using the social media to connect to the outer world, it never feels real enough and eventually, it gets boring. Firstly, it is not a lie if we state that social media has helped humanity a lot. Indeed, if it wasn't for all these technologies, we couldn't attend the scrum session in the morning, communicate with our professor until noon and talk to our parents in the nights when we feel lonely in one day's job. So, using social media has the advantage of saving time, energy and money. Also, we would need to travel long distances to be able to meet our friends that we've missed so much. For instance, my grandmother and I, call my aunt every weekend since she has moved to another country and I can really feel how much it means to my grandmother as well as my aunt. Thus, social networks enable us to do more work, have more energy and money at the same time. On the other hand, nothings beats a group meeting in your usuall usually place in the sundays. Almost everyone I know, admits that face-timing doesn't help at all when they miss someone. Furthermore, one cannot understand how others really feel behind their cameras while you could easily tell when you meet them in-person. For example, in the pandemic, my friends and I called each other frequently. However, you could feel that we were drifting apart from each other. But, the pandemic is now over and we are back together just like the old days. Hence, communicating through social media never guarantees quality time with your friends and family unlike a face to face meet-up that will boost you mood up. To conclude, deciding between social media and a good old fashioned meeting at the bar, is indeed a tough challenge. This decade is called the decade of social media for a good reason and we can clearly understand all the time and money it saves us. But, once you experience the distance between you and your loved ones, never in a world would you change the feeling of being in their presence with anything.