Some believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is widely believed that people should take care of the environment, while others think that the government is the one who is responsible for it. Although the government has much more resources to do it, I am a firm believer that it is everyone's responsibility and this essay presents my own opinion on this problem. One of the main reasons why people tend to think that taking care of nature is the government's duty is its abundance of available resources. It is much easier for authorities to invest money in a project that will ensure that nature is protected since individuals do not own this huge amount of money. Moreover, they have the power to restrict any pollution by implementing new laws which will result in the reduction of pollution. For example, in Kazakhstan, the government plays a pivotal role in maintaining a healthy environment since there are many taxes which ensure that people take care of the environment. In contrast, there is a firm belief that it is people's responsibility to do it since there are more than 8 billion people on the Earth and their impacts all add up to the cumulative effect. There is no doubt that the total number of world population surpasses the number of people who are the government's inferiors. Therefore, the cumulative effect of all these individuals will outweigh all other measures simply because there are many more of them. For instance, there are about 10 thousand government workers in Kazakhstan, while its population is 20 million and it is obvious that they outweigh only 10 thousand. In conclusion, although the government plays a significant role and contributes to the protection of nature because of all of its capabilities and resources, I think that it is people's responsibility to take care of the surroundings since they have a greater impact.