The use of Social Media is replacing face-to-face contact with many people. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With technological advancements, social media has had a profound impact on various aspects of our lives, one of which is transforming our communication. The use of Social media offers numerous advantages like decreasing communication costs, while it brings a few disadvantages to mental health. To commence with, social media produces great benefits for modern people in communication. To start with, social media eliminates geographical restrictions that people want to contact someone in a matter of seconds. For example, in the period of the pandemic(COVID-19 virus), most companies implemented remote work, therefore, workers switched over to social media to communicate, such as Zoom, Google Meetings, or teams, instead of person-to-person interaction. In addition, in contrast with face-to-face contact, social media saves not only commuting time but also fare. Admittedly, social media has its demerits. Individuals have an increased risk of mental health caused by this, especially the younger ones. For instance, In recent years, the number of people having FOMO (Fear of missing out) has grown due to the prevalence of social media. FOMO is a feeling of apprehension that a person worries about missing out on information or events that could make one's life better. People suffering from FOMO pay excessive attention to messages from others and the state of others. Also, It’s valuable to pay attention that FOMO is associated with worsening depression and anxiety. In conclusion, although problems relating to social media attach importance and wait for resolution, Social Media has merits in reducing obstacles to communication effectively.