Some people think that you can never become fluent in a languange unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree?

Language is a significant part of human communication and it is a skill that can be learned through practice only. Many societies believe to become fluent in a language they need to be working, living, and studying in a foreign country. I strongly disagree with the statement that living abroad makes the learning process faster and easier; however, there are several methods for people to be eloquent in a foreign language. To begin, people who live in foreign countries eventually can speak the local language because they build the habit of communicating with local people on a daily basis. A human brain grabs the language quickly if they are surrounded by people with a common language. For instance, Indonesian youngsters who prefer to study abroad in English countries such as the United States and the United Kingdom, cannot speak English fluently at first because their mother tongue is Indonesia. However, as time passed, they started to develop their English skills by interacting with students who were born in English countries. Other than that, staying in a foreign land is not the only technique to become more fluent in a language. There are many other factors which play a main role in the learning process. To state one, nowadays people can learn a language by reading books or taking a course with an expert. For example, many institutions provide English courses for society who concerned about increasing their language skills. The lecturers vary from local people who already certified and foreigners that had been stayed for a long time in one country. In conclusion, living abroad in a foreign country makes the learning process smoother. However, proficiency can be gained by reading books or taking a course, too.