In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some ways. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies usually claim that their products have new features in the advertisements. This strategy is used by producers everywhere around the world. This essay will explain why it is a common phenomenon and why I think it has a negative impact on societies. The reason why producers put a lot of emphasis on saying their goods are new is because it makes people purchase more of their products. They might make minor adjustments on a certain item and tell the customers that the change is innovative and necessary. People who watch the advertisements might agree with the messages they receive from the media and decide to buy the products afterwards because they do not want to be stuck with using outdated items. I think this trend has multiple negative effects on societies. Firstly, it makes people shop too frequently and sometimes unnecessarily. It is commonly seen that people, especially teenagers, buy new mobile phones every three to four months because the items have new upgrades. Secondly, when people purchase disposable goods too often it can create more waste which is the main contributor to pollution. Moreover, this phenomenon causes people to have less discipline with personal accounting, which sometimes leads them to end up having a huge amount of credit card debts In conclusion, I think advertising that a product is new is an overused trick that business owners like to say. Customers should be well aware of this strategy because they can end up buying unnecessary products and overspending their money.