Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, a huge number of students who finish hịgh school tend to take a year off in order to travel or gain work experience. Although this trend may have certain demerits, I personally believe that the merits are more considerable. On the one hand, taking a gap year can be detrimental to students. The main reason is that they set their foot in higher education a year behind their peers. As a result, it leads to postponing gaining their bachelor’s degree, which can obstruct their future career opportunities. In other words, taking a long break before embarking on their formal university education can result in a loss of momentum. Therefore, some students find it difficult to come back to the academic environment and struggle to join college coursework after having a year off. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that taking a year off to work or travel is more beneficial. This is mainly because students will have lots of opportunities to gain life experience. This means that they can acquire a deeper insight into new cultures and exposure to different ways of living by making their own money or travelling. Thus, a lot of essential skills that will be valuable to them in the future will be learned. To illustrate this point, when students decide to go to work, they can learn many useful skills such as time management and problem-solving skills, which can be applied to improve academic performance when they come back to university. In conclusion, while taking a gap year may discourage them from coming back to university, it is my firm belief that the upside in terms of having a deep insight into themselves and gaining lots of life experience is more significant.