The Internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades. Although some of these changes have been negative, the overall effect of this technology has been positive. What are your opinions on this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience

It is undeniable that the Internet has significantly changed human history over the past few decades. Although many people argue that it makes traditional ways no longer serve us and brings thousands of new problems, I believe the overall effect of the development has been positive. I will explain that in this essay. To begin with, there are several advantages when it comes to the Internet issue. Firstly, the use of the Internet enables people who live in different areas to communicate with each other and share ideas in real-time without traditional frictions such as great distances. People nowadays can easily send messages to friends, parents, or even a random guy on social media, and that leads to more discussions and interactions than before. To some degree, the Internet boosts the growth of human wisdom and knowledge. Second, the Internet bridges the gap between rural and urban areas. Take me for example. I live in a rural country in Taiwan. I've heard that at the time without the Internet or websites, people living there had limited access to up-to-date information and could only acquire knowledge from newspapers or books and there was no chance for them to compete with others living in big cities because they were rich in more educational and political resources. Without equivalent resources, rural society has fewer opportunities to succeed in modern society. However, in my generation, the Internet started to show its value on the issue: allowing for the exchange of cultural content. Through the posts and comments on social media and millions of online articles sharing specific values and thought patterns about happiness, economy, and work-life balance, we refresh ourselves and discard some old perspectives then make us better connected to the world rather than being forgotten. What's more, it alleviates our sense of self-inferiority when we face urban residents by knowing their thoughts from YouTube videos and Titok. Also, we can share our unique opinions about how to relax and relieve, which impacts people living in the city a lot. To sum up, it's undeniable that high-tech does cause some dramatic consequences ------ the government oversees its citizens more easily and suppresses people's freedom. But if we use it in the proper way and be really careful, it will be an available and handy tool for all of us.