It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is becoming popular in primary schools to educate children on how to plant vegetables and look after animals. As a result, some people argue that this trend is beneficial. On the other hand, some argue this learning should be optional. In my,opinion there are more benefits than drawbacks to this trend, as this learning develops respect for the natural environment. This essay will explain the reasons of my viewpoint, providing examples. There are some negative aspects to teaching children about taking care of animals and vegetation. The main issue can be that young individuals may start feeling distracted from primary subjects, such as literature, math or science. It means, that if children focus on these subjects, rather than the main ones, they may lack basic knowledge. For example, at the age of 5-7 years,old it is particularly important for primary school children to learn how to count and how to read. Hence, the main focus is supposed to be on these subjects. However, teachers and parents can take this problem into consideration and try to find a balance between academic subjects and not, to minimise or even avoid bad consequences. It is extremely beneficial to educate pupils on how to look after the natural environment. Firstly, through cultivating vegetables children will realise the value of fresh products, so they may not waste food. Secondly, gaining knowledge about how to feed and interact with animals can help to develop vital personal qualities like empathy, care and kindness. For instance, in Australia, some primary schools organise farm days, where pupils are introduced to some farm animals and even allowed to feed and pet them. This, helps children to be less cynical and selfish in future, but instead to be kind and generous. In conclusion, it becomes obvious that there are many more benefits to teaching children how to grow plants and look after animals. This knowledge brings a range of positive aspects, as the child learns about nature, develops kindness and care, and learns about the ecosystem of our planet.