Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are varying opinions about learning a foreign language. While some people indicate that the only reason to learn other languages different from your main one is just essential if you want to work abroad or just travel, others say that these are not the only reasons which I definitely agree. This essay will discuss both points of view. Those who argue that learning new languages is only necessary if you will travel or work abroad have good reason because with today’s technology everyone can understand all languages if you do not need to use them one-on-one or live and instantly. For instance, if you want to read an article in German you can translate it into your own language in seconds or you can watch any series with titles. However, in my opinion, learning a language has more comprehensive benefits than that. On the other side, there are also some people who say that learning another language is not just a necessity to work abroad or see the World, it has further beneficial effects which I totally agree with. One of the main reasons among others is training your brain. There are lots of studies as proof that learning a new language can prevent you from developing schizophrenia, dementia and other mental relevant diseases that may occur in older ages. In addition, even if you work in your own country, learning new languages can improve your career life. For example, you can work in an international company and communicate with your colleagues very easily. Furthermore, learning a new language so relevant to learning new cultures. Even if this is a preferable thing in life, learning about different cultures gives you new points of view. Thus, learning a new language can give you more than just working ability abroad or travelling. In conclusion, is learning other languages rather than your main one just for work or travel abroad? While some people say that it is not necessary if you don’t work or travel to foreign countries, others say these are not the only reasons. In my opinion, it can lead to more beneficial consequences. This essay discussed both sides.