Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion that the government should allocate substantial financial resources to constructing numerous sports facilities in order to boost public health. I, along with many other individuals, disagree with this viewpoint inasmuch as it does not cater adequately to a sheer number of social groups, which constitute an integral proportion of all citizens, and if not provided with appropriate support, they will become vulnerable and will not benefit at all. On the one hand, it has been universally accepted that regular sports activities, more often than not, make an invaluable contribution to the development of physical potential. This is because our organs exert their full effort in overcoming the sudden changes caused by intensive and strenuous exercises. For instance, in order to mitigate the effects of rapid energy loss, the lungs start relentlessly pumping the air, so the concentration of oxygen in our blood system returns to its initial level. Therefore, having been trained on a regular basis, all components of a human organism, including bones, muscles, and a heart system, start functioning much better than they used to. Consequently, adopting policies aimed at fostering and encouraging citizens’ engagement in physical activities by building more sports facilities seems to be a wise and reasonable decision to make. Some individuals, however, are unable to even meet their own needs, so exercising might seem a totally impossible task for them. They can get seriously hurt while doing physical activities, thus, only aggravating their current state. For example, an old lady might sprain her ankle while running on a treadmill, which may lead to an unequivocal need for a surgical intervention. Hence, solely investing in the active building of sports constructions seems to marginalise the demands of the elderly, invalids, and patients who suffer from chronic diseases. In order to avoid a superficial solution that is most likely not to bear fruit, authorities should delve into the complexity of the issue and deepen their understanding of the difficulties and obstacles that vulnerable social groups might encounter. In conclusion, although there are a tremendous number of benefits of enhancing sports infrastructure, I’m of the opinion that the government should also consider the diverse needs of their citizens and come up with alternative holistic approaches that would bring health improvements to society as a whole.