Some people are of the opinion that there should be a cae-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

Nowadays, many people are asking for a car-less day once in a while in which nobody is allowed to use their personal cars and everybody should just use clean transportation. I believe it is a nice reminder about our environment and could raise awareness in people but at the same time, I am not sure of it working out in a meaningful way. So, I believe it could create a false sense of effectiveness and therefore stop people from truly fighting for a cleaner environment. Firstly, to have a day once a month specified for the preservation of our habitat, is generally a good thing. It automatically sends a few words to whoever pays attention to the calendar and raises awareness. Also, it conveys the message that the earth is in more danger now than it has ever been. For instance, it wasn't until they added a miners' day to the calendars that we found what a hard-working group of people they are. Thus, adding a carless day to our calendars will help people pay more attention to their surrounding life. On the other hand, there is a threat hidden in this act and that is, we humans might feel so satisfied with ourselves that we begin to be destructive again. Certainly, one day of streets being free of private vehicles does not reduce the extent to which we have ruined our environment. Moreover, people get easily fooled by their own acts and eventually, might give up on every other environmental activity they do as a result of them not taking out their cars for one day. For instance, some people do a few push-ups every day and avoid going to the gym because they consider those push-ups as proper exercise. So, we tend to fool ourselves on a daily basis and we certainly don't want that to happen when we're talking about our nature. To conclude, the scheme of adding a carless day to our official calendars, is in itself a good thing. But, we might want to look out for all the lies we are going to tell ourselves after we've done it and furthermore, avoid getting back to the previous phase of our history in which we destroyed nature.