People are surrounded by many kinds of advertisements which can influence their life. Does the positive effect of this trend outweigh the negative effect?

Nowadays, advertisements are penetrating into our daily life and wecan see them everywhere. People have a myriad of views about advertisements as they can affect us both positively and negatively without our notice. Although there are advantages of advertising, they are outweighed by the disadvantages. Regarding the positive side of advertising, probably the most significant benefit is that it is one of the indispensable elements of selling a product. It provides a golden opportunity for companies to inform customers of their products as well as the unique characteristics and exclusive benefits. Without advertisements, people may not be informed of a wide range of choices of new products they have and will stick with traditional products. Another benefit that should not be overlooked is that advertising encourages people to utilize their imagination and allow people to flex their using interesting stories and images to attract customers’ attention within a short period of time. Fascinating storylines and hilarious characters are often involved, bringing entertainment to customers. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that advertising brings about more drawbacks. Advertisements encourage consumer culture, where we are encouraged to keep abreast of the latest trend. As certain renowned brands, like Gucci, Chanel and Louis Vuitton are associated with a higher status, people may fulfill their vanity at the expense of lavishing money on something unnecessary, where in extreme cases people are plagued with debts. Another downside is that in an attempt to persuade people to buy a product, advertisements often create unrealistic expectations with exaggerated effects, manipulating people at the end of the day. A striking illustration is that in fashion magazines, they feature glamorous and thin models, conveying the message that “thin is tantamount to beauty” to women. The gap between the ideal self and the real self may widen due to messages and values conveyed by advertisements, leading to low self-esteem of some women. Never should we overlook at the fact that advertisements may communicate inappropriate messages or values to children. As children are still at a tender age and are at a developmental stage, they are susceptible to advertisements. For example, when they see junk food being advertised as good-looking scrumptious food, they may ignore the nutritional value and persuade their parents to buy them junk food. Therefore, although advertising can bring us information and encourages creativity, I still believe the drawbacks that it promotes consumer culture and conveys inappropriate messages or values are more significant.