As more and more information is available online, the role of textbook has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital material. Do the advantage of this situation outweighs the disadvantages? Give a opinion on this.

In the modern era, with the easy availability of books online, textbook usage is greatly reduced and thus some people advocate that universities should replace physical textbooks with online materials. Though incorporating digital resources may result in some difficulties initially, I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the discomfort and the essay will side towards the same. Firstly, the main advantage of e-books is their easy availability at a low cost. A wide variety of digital study content across the world is readily available at the fingertips at affordable prices. Apart from availability, it is easy to store and carry the bulk of readable material on a single electronic device, unlike physical copies. The digitalization of books has allowed us to search through the content very conveniently which was not possible with traditional study material. Lastly, e-books contribute a lot to reduce an individual’s carbon footprint and have thus proven to be environmentally friendly. On the other hand, there are some areas where people have limited access to the internet, especially in rural areas or difficult terrains. Also, many people particularly elders are not well equipped with technology and do not feel comfortable reading the content on the small digital screen. The comfort of holding a book and turning pages is missing with digital devices. Furthermore, more screen time can lead to straining the eye and may cause discomfort or irritability in the eye. To conclude, the digitalization of books comes with its own pros and cons but I believe that the merits supersede the demerits in terms of accessibility, cost-effectiveness, and sustainability. The advantages for many should outweigh the challenges for a few.