Virtual reality be used as a tool for therapeutic interventions and mental health treatments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Emerging technologies in healthcare are improving patient care. Similarly, Virtual reality is an effective instrument for treating psychological disorders and curative interventions. I fully agree with the above statement as it is a highly reliable, accessible and cost-effective therapy. Mental health is a serious concern these days and virtual reality is a blessing to treat this because of the benefits it has offered. Firstly, this technology is widely accessible and patients can be treated and monitored at a distance. For instance, according to a research in 2011 patients with phobia are not required to visit the hospital any more as Virtual reality can be set up at home too, which will eliminate the clinical stigma for mental illness. Consequently, the patient would be motivated to be treated for their mental illness instead of being ashamed. Secondly, the cost-effectiveness of this innovative technology is another factor that has made it a therapeutic tool for both the patient and the hospital. Mental health treatment is often expensive, whereas virtual reality is cheaper. It helps the clinical settings to lower the expenditure of medicine and other equipments. Likewise, the patients do have not to spend much money on their treatment as it is cheaper than traditional therapies. Consequently, people with low financial capacity can have effective care of their mental health. In conclusion, virtual reality is an innovation with therapeutic and improved mental illness treatment. The use of virtual reality will motivate the psychologically ill individual to access mental health services comfortably and will lower the cost of expensive treatments.