The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

One of the widely common habit found in people is smoking, even though it is well known for being unhealthy and bad, every third person from five smokes. Everyone has at least four acquaintances or even friends and family members who suffers from this terrible habit which ruins health and even endangers individual and yet a majority people smoke, but why? The main reason behind this is an addiction to nicotine. When a human starts smoking, he develops an addiction to it specifically to nicotine, a chemical in tobacco and cigarettes. Nicotine produces easily pleasing effects in person's brain, however, it is only a temporary pleasure, as a result, human continues to smoke just to feel good again and when they get used to it, it becomes hard for them to quit even if they want to.The effects of smoking are massive, this habit not only eventually destroys your lungs, it also affects your whole body and can even kill you with heart disease. Smoking causes breathing problems, vision and hearing loss, blood circulation problems and even a cancer. My bright example of this occurrence is my mom. She smokes for 5 year-period and even more, even if there were attempts to stop, she still would start once again even if it negatively affects her, due to smoking she already has breathing problems and coughs a lot. She knows she has to quit this habit but she can not due to a nicotine addiction, she still tries to quit and i hope that consequently, my mom abandons smoking. The best way to quit nicotine addiction is to tackle it with a time. It is impossible to stop in one day, because brain is too used to nicotine that eventually you will start smoking even more. The second way is to distract yourself, everytime you have an urge to smoke, think of something else or try a new hobby. Communicate more with people and ask them to support you in your situation, support and cheer from friends can help a little bit, because you would not want to disappoint people and eventually you would not even want to smoke anymore. In conclusion to everything i wrote before, i hope that in the near future more people will pick action and quit smoking.