Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies.

In these modern days, most educational facilities still give lessons about academic subjects such as History or Social Studies. Meanwhile, vocational or specialist competencies are becoming a requirement for most career vacancies. In the following paragraph, the advantages or disadvantages of these views will be discussed. In fact, requiring vocational skills or specialist knowledge for companies can give them several advantages. Firstly, companies do not need to teach them the basics since candidates already have those skills. To illustrate, when companies are hiring a Marketing team and they can hire people with a speciality in Marketing, they do not need to teach them from the basics. Therefore, it can reduce a lot of time in teaching their new employees. In addition, when an individual comes from Marketing School, they must already be exposed to Marketing skills which can help the companies to not spend too much budget to conduct the training from the basics. On the other hand, there might be reasons why academic subjects exist in education and it is still applied to this subject. Therefore, avoiding these subjects can give this phenomenon several drawbacks that can impact the business and its individuals. In the first place, the lack of basic knowledge about academic subjects might happen to the individual. For example, they might have less knowledge about social studies which can impact their social skills. Additionally, this will lead to a lack of quality due to their academic performances. To summarize, requiring individuals to have vocational skills or specialist knowledge can give several advantages such as they do not need to teach their employees from scratch, and can get well-prepared candidates. However, it also has other disadvantages such as their employee might have a lack of basic knowledge about academic subjects, and a lack of quality in education and academic performance.